DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards

DeRose-Hinkhouse Award deadline: Jan. 31, 2020

2020 DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards

Deadline: January 31, 2020 (for work completed in 2019)

Awards luncheon: Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at Hyatt Regency Hotel in DC area

DeRose-Hinkhouse Award Categories

Online entry form (Google account required)

Coordinator: Ryan Koch, 125 Columbus Ave, 2nd floor; New York, NY 10023; 212-580-1919.

DeRose-Hinkhouse Best of Class statueThe DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards are given annually to active members of the Religion Communicators Council (RCC) who demonstrate excellence in religious communications and public relations.

The awards are named to honor the late Victor DeRose and the late Paul M. Hinkhouse, leading lithographers in New York City, and longtime friends of the RCC. Both men shared a strong interest in, and concern for, excellence in communications.

The extended deadline for entries to the DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards is January 31, 2020.

The awards luncheon is Wednesday, March 18, 2020 at the Hyatt Regency Crystal City, 2799 Richmond Highway, Arlington, VA 22202 as part of the once-a-deacde Religion Communication Congress 2020. RCC is one of 100+ cooperating organizations meeting at RCCongress 2020, March 17-21, 2020.

The longer I'm associated with RCC, the more I am floored by the competence and caliber of the professionals operating in this space. I encourage you to submit your work for the DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards, not only so that you can receive recognition for your hard work, but so that I, and the rest of the RCC board and membership, can be inspired and improve our own communications efforts!

Ryan John Koch~ Ryan John Koch

Coordinator of the DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards, 2018-2020

Director The New York Office of Public and International Affairs, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

Best of Class, 2019 DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards

Three of the 2019 DeRose-Hinkhouse Award Best of Class winners (L to R): Heidi Parsons, Brilliant Star / Bahá’í National Center; Jeff Huett accepting the award on behalf of Aaron Weaver, Cooperative Baptist Fellowship; and Rae Grant, accepting the award on behalf of Tara Barnes, Response magazine, United Methodist Women.

Photo by Julie Brinker

The 2019 winners were announced at the Awards Ceremony on April 10, 2019 at Fourth Presbyterian Church, Chicago.

Class A — Periodicals

Best of Class to Tara Barnes: Response, Daily Assembly Edition, United Methodist Women

Class B — Periodicals, Single Issue

Best of Class to Katherine Branch: Pathways Magazine, 2018, Green Gate Marketing

Class C — Writing For Publication

Best of Class to Donna Frischknecht Jackson: "Rural Realities” series, Presbyterians Today, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

Class D — Specialized Writing

Best of Class to Aaron Weaver: A Baptist Vision of Religious Liberty & Free and Faithful Politics – The Words and Writing of James M. Dunn, Cooperative Baptist Fellowship

Class E — Graphic Design, Art, and Photography

Best of Class to Emily Sajewski, Adlai Amor: Working for the World We Seek for 75 Years: FCNL Annual Report 2017-2018, Friends Committee on National Legislation (FCNL)

Class F — Audio and Video, Non-Broadcast and Cable

Best of Class to Paul Seebeck, Michael Fitzer: JuJu Skateboard Ministry, Presbyterian Mission Agency

Class G — Public Relations Materials

Best of Class to William Nunnelley: Samford University Beeson Magazine, Samford University

Class H — Public Relations/Advertising Campaigns

Best of Class to Teresa Mader and Bryce Wiebe: 2018-2019 Presbyterian Giving Catalog Social Media Campaign, Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.)

Class I — Digital Media

Best of Class to Amenthel Parel-Sewell, C. Aaron Kreader, Amy Renshaw, Heidi Parsons: Brilliant Star Online, Brilliant Star / Bahá’í National Center

DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Award Winners

















powered by MemberClicks